2011-2012 NCCU Law Legal Writing Scholars Announced

Posted on Thursday, October 13, 2011

By Timothy J. Peterkin

Congratulations to this year’s recipients of the North Carolina Central University (NCCU) School of Law Legal Writing Scholarship — Hannah Autry, Brittany Brown, Cheri M. Hamilton, and David Jimerfield.

Thanks to the generous donations of NCCU Law alumni and the leadership of the NCCU Legal Writing Director Brenda D. Gibson, the NCCU Legal Writing Program offers one student from each of the four class sections at the law school, an opportunity to serve as the Legal Writing Scholar for that section. A second year law student who has performed well in his/her first year legal writing courses is selected each year by the legal writing faculty.

Left to right: Cheri M. Hamilton, Brittany Brown, Hannah Autry, and David Jimerfield

The Legal Writing Scholars hold office hours where they assist first year students with their memos. They also serve as mentors for the first year students. The scholars are awarded $1,250.00 each.