NCCU Law Annual Awards Ceremony

Posted on Friday, April 13, 2012

The Annual North Carolina Central University School of Law Awards Ceremony will be held on Wednesday, April 18th at noon in the Moot Courtroom. During this ceremony, students will be recognized for excellence in academics, leadership and professionalism.  Awards will be presented to Evening Program students who are unable to attend prior to class on Thursday, April 19th.  Please join us as we celebrate your accomplishments.

The following awards will be presented:

Book Awards

Awarded to the first-year student who achieved the highest grade in each of the four sections of Property, Torts, Contracts and Civil Procedure during the Fall 2011 semester.

The Dean’s Awards

The H.M. Michaux Award for Public Service

The Daniel G. Sampson Award for Scholarship

The Floyd B. McKissick Award For Leadership and Scholarship

The Justice Robert Glass Award for Outstanding Service to the Law Review

The Judge Herbert Richardson Award for Outstanding Service to the Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Law

The Clifton E. Johnson Award for Outstanding Service to the Moot Court Board

The Michael F. Easley Award for Outstanding Service to the Trial Advocacy Board

The Anne Duncan Award for Academic Achievement in the Face of Significant Obstacles

The Dean’s Leadership Award

The Spes Bona Award (Awarded to a  graduating NCCU law student who has achieved the highest increase in GPA from the end of their first year to their final year of law school.  “Spes bona” means “good hope,” recognizing the determination of students to succeed despite personal and academic challenges) 

The ALI-ABA Scholarship & Leadership Award

This award recognizes the graduating student who best represents a combination of scholarship and leadership, the qualities embodied by the American Law Institute (ALI) and the American Bar Association (ABA).

Clinical Program Awards

The Clinical Program will also present  awards to the clinic students who have far exceeded the requirements of their program in hours, effort, productivity, results, and professionalism.

Excellence in Writing Awards

Presented to second-year and third-year law students by the NCCU Legal Writing Program.