BLSA Receives Johnnie Cochran Award

Posted on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

The Southern Region of the National Black Law Students Association (SRBLSA) held it’s 41st Regional Convention in Birmingham, Alabama on January 17-22, 2012. SRBLSA is the largest region of the National Black Law Students Association encompassing 11 states and over 2,000 students. Jamie Davis, represented NCCU during the 2011-2012 term as SRBLSA’s Regional Chair.

Germaine Austin, NCCU Law BLSA President and Jamie Davis, Regional Chair of the Southern Region of BLSA, receiving the Johnnie Cochran Award on behalf of NCCU BLSA.

This year, North Carolina Central University School of Law’s BLSA took two teams to the regional convention to compete in the Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Competition and Fredrick Douglass Moot Court Competitions.  The NCCU BLSA mock trial team was represented by Andre McDavid, Corry Brannen, Kara Fletcher and Nyiesha Smith. The moot court team was represented by Erica Vample and Charity Endicott. The mock trial team exhibited extreme confidence and skill. They lost only once while, however, the winning team was undefeated. The moot court team’s brief score was near perfect. Their writing skills received honorable mention and they performed well during oral arguments. The mock trial team could not have been successful with-out the guidance, skill and wisdom of Judge Ernest Fullwood. The moot court team could not have gotten far without their remarkable coach and advocate, Professor Timothy Peterkin. We are very proud of the professional skill, courage and tenacity our team showed. Please help us congratulate them and their coaches.

NCCU BLSA also received the Johnnie Cochran award at the convention. They received this award for having the largest membership and for their astonishing and profound dedication of service to the community domestically and abroad. NCCU BLSA is recognized by other schools and chapters as one of the best chapters in the region. They would like to give a special thanks to their advisor, Professor Michael Wallace and to Dean Lisa Morgan, the NCCU Law Clinic, Mrs. Delores James and the NCCU Foundation, Dean Tammi Jackson and Dean Wendy Scott for their support and guidance. This year NCCU BLSA achieved greatness and they couldn’t have done it without their members and their school administration.